Thursday Born

The everyday life of a medical student (who was born on a Thursday).

Bottled Mead!

with 3 comments


I finally got around to bottling my first two gallons of mead! These are the sum of the sterile, properly bottled ones that should be safe to store indefinitely (but I think I will encourage them to be drunk soon because I don’t think this recipe really improves much with age and I let it get exposed to air quite a bit as I was siphoning them into the bottles). I also really underfilled one of the bottles, but that one’s going home with me for Christmas so it will be opened soon. There’s two more of the smaller bottles (200ml) and a small 4oz nalgene container in the fridge, that were not bottled under sterile conditions and should be consumed really soon.

It was a very messy and sticky process, and I think I need to invest in an auto-filler. I’m not sure how people manage to actually pinch off the tube between bottles by hand, because the best I could do was sort of slow the flow, but not stop it. Still, I have to report that this recipe is amazing and while I do still intend to try at least a third recipe (there’s a second one still finishing up in my pantry), I think this will be my go-to recipe. It’s just so easy and it tastes so good. I might try little variations, but I don’t really have the time to seriously get into brewing anyway, especially recipes that need much more rigid handling.

I’m in love with my bottle capper though. There’s something nifty about being able to cap bottles just like the ones you buy in the store! I can cap any bottle that takes a standard bottle cap (so not the twist off bottles). I decided not to invest in a corker, and instead bought some fancy “Zork” corks that you just push (or hammer) into the wine bottle. They’re also easier to open than normal corks (hilarious commercial about this), and they turn into a wine stopper once the seal has been removed. They’re definitely more expensive than real corks, but for the volume of mead I plan to make, I think these are a reasonable investment.

Owning a capper kind of makes me want to try making beer, except I still only vaguely like beer. I have the yeast to try making hard cider though, and I’ll probably do that after Christmas break. Hard cider is a very simple process of add yeast to apple cider, wait ten days, then drink your hard cider.

Written by Aba

November 19, 2010 at 3:34 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Testing. Mommy

    Mommy

    November 21, 2010 at 8:11 am

  2. Ok it worked. Soup looks good. You should look for nkontomire. Check the Ghanaian shops. Worked for me.

    Mommy

    November 21, 2010 at 8:13 am

    • Hi Mommy! 🙂 I’ll see if I can find the proper leaves to make real nkontomire, but I might try making it with spinach first. I think my friends will like it either way.

      Aba

      November 21, 2010 at 1:32 pm


Leave a Reply

