Thursday Born

The everyday life of a medical student (who was born on a Thursday).

Fun with my new camera

with one comment

I’ve been experimenting with actually using the features my camera comes with, instead of just leaving it on one setting for all pictures.

Grilled cheese sandwich made of brie and homemade apple butter. Honeycrisp apple cider in the background. It was good, but sharper cheeses would be better. At least some good cheddar. Someday (possibly soon) I will re-create the Cosi sandwich my boyfriend Ahmet had the first time we interacted one on one, without others around. He had taken care of my rabbits over Thanksgiving break and I had just returned and no one else was really around, so after he gave me back my keys, we went to Cosi to eat, and he got this five cheese and marmalade toasted sandwich and it was delicious! I don’t even remember what I had. His was better.

Success! I just googled the sandwich and found a blog post that lists the five cheeses, so I’m good to go! Brie, provolone, cheddar, Swiss, and parmesan. It apparently has an insane amount of calories, but my version will likely be quite a bit more modest.

Eggo waffle (I was too lazy to make crepes, which are how I usually eat this combination) with hazelnut butter and fresh strawberries. Always a winning combination. Seriously. If you must, use nutella instead, but I prefer the pure hazelnut variation. Don’t get me wrong. I love nutella, but it’s a very strong flavor and I love it best on bread, by itself, like how I grew up eating it by mooching off my classmate’s lunches when I was six.

I wasn’t actually trying to turn my waffle in Pac Man, or the cut would have been deeper. Still, I looked at my plate and realized I had an almost pac man, so I took a picture, of course.

Random fire spinners I don’t know, at a drum circle. Fancier cameras can get even more amazing pictures of fire spinning. Still, neat though, right? I’ve been spinning a decent amount lately (but not recently, due to school) and realizing that not only do I have lots of techniques I want to learn, but I also need to work on style, because I don’t really have much of a style right now, and I could put on a decent performance even at my skill level if I just added a bit of a flare and some easy transition moves. Unfortunately, medical school kinda comes very far ahead of “looking cool while playing with fire.” Speaking of medical school, back to the kidneys!

Written by Aba

October 30, 2010 at 1:56 am

Posted in Uncategorized

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. i found this recipe for waffles I want to try… but I hardly ever eat waffles… sorry my comment is kind of pointless. but have a great weekend with Ahmet! And I’ll see you when you get back 🙂

    Amrita

    November 5, 2010 at 1:16 am


Leave a Reply

