Thursday Born

The everyday life of a medical student (who was born on a Thursday).

Re-considering (sort of) Research

leave a comment »

I have exams again on Monday. Starting with Pathology of the Heart, Kidneys and Lungs on Monday, Renal Pathophysiology on Tuesday, Nothing on Wednesday, then Cardiovascular Pathophysiology on Thursday and Pulmonary Pathophysiology on Friday.

However, despite the fact that us second years have exams next week, and that we were the majority of the students who did summer research, the Summer Research Poster symposium was yesterday.   I wasn’t looking forward to it, right from the putting the poster together to having to stand by it for an hour yesterday, but it turned out to be okay. Putting the poster together didn’t take too long, my summer research team approved of the first draft, and printing did not take an hour as I was told to expect. I also rather enjoyed chatting with my “faculty reviewer.” He was a neurologist whose first question to all of us was “What was the coolest thing about your experience this summer?” His questions made it clear that his main interest was to see if the summer research had inspired any of us to think about research as a career. I don’t think I’ve ever had someone so genuinely try to recruit me into research. It wasn’t all that hard of a sell, but I could tell that he really enjoyed research and that he really feels that there need to be more doctors taking more of an evidence based medicine approach to their practice and doing clinical research at least on the side, if not primarily.

I did really enjoy my experience over the summer. It was only six weeks, which isn’t long enough to really accomplish something, but it gave me a chance to see a much different lab environment from where I worked for a year before medical school. The lab was very friendly, and there were many different labs all working in the same office area, with a very open and warm collaborative environment.  It almost felt more like an office job than a research job, but I liked that aspect of it. Still, while I had a lot of fun pretending to be a programmer (and succeeding at programing!), it’s just not what I had in mind when I decided I wanted to be a doctor. There’s certainly nothing wrong with doing something different from what I expected, but if something’s going to change my path, I don’t think this is it.

And now back to studying. I really should have a better grasp at reading EKGs by now but I’m still fumbling in the dark a bit (a lot).

Written by Aba

October 28, 2010 at 3:21 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

