Thursday Born

The everyday life of a medical student (who was born on a Thursday).

Staying healthy

with 4 comments

Second year has been incredibly time consuming, and I’ve been cooking less often. There was recently a sale on sardines at Aldi’s ($0.79 a tin!) so sardines and crackers have been a rather frequent meal.  Still, now that I’ve been pretty reliably feeding myself for two years, I’m trying to focus more on eating a proper variety. I do eat pretty healthily, but there’s definitely a distinct daily lack of enough fruits and vegetables. While I’m not a big fan of frozen meals, largely because they get expensive really quickly, I am a big fan of frozen meal components. Above is frozen spinach + frozen broccoli, mixed with paremsean, mozzerella, olive oil, salt, black pepper, about a teaspoon of butter, and a tiny bit of garlic. The result? Absolutely delicious. And in the other bowl is Trader Joe’s gnocchi, which I think I added black pepper and maybe a bit of garlic to. The next day I repeated most of the steps, but no broccoli, and I mixed the two dishes together. Even better!

I even made Ratatouille two weeks ago, which was a great way to get in a nice variety of vegetables everyday. Although I’ve seen and loved the pixar movie of the same name, I was still a little unsure exactly what Ratatouille is. In short, it’s a variety of vegetables, cooked individually, and then simmered slowly together. Seasoning is surprisingly minimal, given how flavorful it turns out; just  some salt, some olive oil, a bay leaf, garlic, black pepper, rosemary and thyme. Mine had one eggplant (well, what was still edible of my eggplant), one zucchini,  two yellow squash, four small red peppers, two or three small green peppers, a tomato or two, and approximately one yellow onion. I loosely followed this recipe, but borrowed some ideas from this recipe as well (mostly, the taking of the liquid from the main pot and boiling it down in a separate pot, to concentrate the flavor without overcooking the vegetables). I unfortunately did overcook mine a bit, because I hadn’t cooked the squash for long enough on their own, but it was still delicious, just a bit mushy and indistinct and not terribly photogenic. I also confess that I probably added way more olive oil than is reasonable, because I tend to be a bit heavy handed with olive oil. It doesn’t help that my cast iron pan really needs re-seasoning.

A few days ago, my friend Amrita sent me an email with a link of simple, healthy breakfast ideas. I hadn’t had breakfast yet and I’d been wanting to bake for a while, so I made the Scottish Oat Scones pretty much immediately. I forgot to actually mix the dry ingredients before I added the wet ingredients, so there was something very slightly unbalanced about them, but they were still pretty good! I might make these again. I’d be inclined to make multiple smaller ones though, instead of just one big large one, and I’m tempted to see what would happen if I let the oats soak in the wet ingredients before adding in the other dry ingredients. I love oatmeal though, so these were guaranteed to be at least a moderate success. They tasted best with my strawberry jam, but were okay with my peach butter. A cup of tea on the side is almost mandatory.

And back on the theme of staying healthy, I’ve started working out, sort of. I generally try to stay mindful of keeping active, and will do little things like trying to take the stairs most of the time (I live on the sixth floor of my apartment building) or walking home from school when the weather’s nice (1.8miles). Although I’ve been fire spinning again and I have a ballroom class once a week,  I’m still a lot more sedentary than I’m used to because I spend a lot of my day sitting in front of my computer and watching lectures and reading notes. So I’ve started the One Hundred Push Ups workout (I’m doing knee push-ups), and I’m also doing Two Hundred Sit Ups. I like them because they’re really minimal and simple programs. I don’t like exercising just to exercise, but I’m finding that I almost enjoy this. Almost. I at least don’t mind it. And aside from missing two workouts last week due to my second older brother’s wedding (which was wonderful!), I’ve been really good about keeping up with it. I’m not sure what I’ll do once I’m done, or if I’ll do anything else, but it’s been nice so far. I definitely am noticing more muscle, which is strange and unexpected, but really nifty.  I had wanted to do their Squats program too, but my knees have always been a little odd and they creak in a way that bothers me when I do squats and lunges. I’m not sure if it’s actually bad for my knees, but I’m going to respect their apparent desire to be left alone.

I’m really looking forward to being done with all this sitting. I like being on my feet, as long as I’m walking around (standing still = lower back pain), so I can’t wait to be in the hospital doing rotations.

Written by Aba

October 12, 2010 at 12:13 am

Posted in Uncategorized

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Mmm, the food looks delish. I am a HUGE fan of gnocchi, so you’re speaking my language. I have a hard time eating healthy, too, mainly because 1) I don’t have a lot of time to cook and b) John’s a picky eater. I often turn to CookingLight recipes for salvation.

    The working out thing is a MUST. The first year of grad school I developed some serious upper back problems from being so sedentary, and now I work out at least once a week to keep everything in line. Yoga and Pilates have been my godsends.

    dorianagraye

    October 13, 2010 at 5:18 pm

    • I still haven’t tried Pilates, but I love Yoga! I need to find some videos that I like because I miss it, but not enough to seek out a class.

      Aba

      October 14, 2010 at 5:36 pm

      • I hear there are some videos up on HULU, but I don’t know how good they are.

        dorianagraye

        October 15, 2010 at 2:21 pm

      • I’ll look into them! And I noticed yesterday that there might be stuff on netflix too, to watch instantly, so I’ll have to dig through there.

        Aba

        October 17, 2010 at 9:58 pm


Leave a Reply

