Thursday Born

The everyday life of a medical student (who was born on a Thursday).

The Grass is Greener

leave a comment »

I spend a lot of time reading blogs, and a good many of them have to do with subjects that (it seems) unfortunately don’t really apply to me. I can translate the general messages to apply to my life, but a lot of the advise and suggestions are flat out impossible given my career choice.

People always say that if you can think of an alternate career you could be happy with, do that instead of medicine, and I can see why. While there are flexible things you can do with an MD degree, when it really comes down to it, it’s a vocation and not a job, it really is something you better be willing to make sacrifices for.

I feel a little pang every now and then when I think about other careers, about the things I see other people doing with their lives. But eventually, you have to choose. I can dabble in a wide variety of things as hobbies, but I can’t really have multiple careers (some people can; they are incredibly dedicated people), especially when one of them is being a doctor. I have decided that this is what I want to do more than anything else and I’m sticking with it.

I won’t stop reading the blogs of people who blog for a living, or who run really cool start ups or who have really strange, fun jobs. I won’t stop wondering what it would be like to be them, and maybe even for a moment wishing I could be them.

But I will not regret my decision to pick medicine over all these other options, even though I’ll need to keep reminding myself of this when this journey starts to get harder and the sacrifices start becoming apparent.

Written by Aba

June 14, 2010 at 10:39 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

