Thursday Born

The everyday life of a medical student (who was born on a Thursday).

I swear I still study!

with 5 comments

The rest of this post will be misleading, but I am still a med student and not just a serial hobbyist. I’ve actually been surprisingly productive lately. My boyfriend’s college graduation is next weekend, right before my last test of the year, so I’ve been making sure to keep on top of the material since I won’t have time for my usual last few days cram. I work better with limitations like this. My boyfriend was talking to a classmate about procrastination and trying to be efficient, and she said that being an athlete taught her to be incredibly efficient, because between practice and classes and games, she just didn’t have the time to procrastinate. My college roommate/best friend was like that too. She used to ice skate and even though she stopped in college, she still retained her really good work ethic that she simply had to develop to survive.

I’ve been trying to more actively take this to heart, realizing that work expands to fill the time available. There is such a thing as too little time to get something done, but there’s also such a thing as too much time. Instead of sitting at my computer all day waiting to be productive, I’ve been better at letting myself do other things (cook, read, watch shows on hulu/netflix, etc) that give my day more structure and allow me to better transition to “okay, and now it’s time to study” because there aren’t that many hours  in the day and it needs to happen at some point.

It’s been rainy lately, which generally leads to my remembering to read a bit more often. I prefer to read in my armchair in my bedroom, bought mainly for this purpose, but my parrot (a Green Cheek Conure) lives in the living room and reading there is a nice way to spend a bit more time around him. If you look closely you can see the raindrops on the window around the level of the plants. This picture was taken during an unexpected thunderstorm, of which there’ve been many lately. A few nights ago I was actually woken up around 4am by a really loud thunderstorm. Lightning every few seconds and it was raining too hard to get a picture through a window (and there was no way I was opening a window). I really enjoy thunderstorms. =) Although unfortunately, the rain this weekend interfered with my and my roommate’s plans of going to the Renaissance Faire on Saturday. We’ve both never been to one and it should be fun. Thankfully, it’ll be open for a few more weekends so we should be able to go before it ends.

The non-orchid plants are my roommate’s, by the way. Rosemary, gardenia?, basil plants, a baby aloe plant,  and a bigger aloe plant.

Yesterday I started some new batches of liqueurs. My mead is going to take a while (checked it a few weeks ago and it hadn’t even cleared yet, and I think I’m going to try to wait till the fruit drops anyway before I move it to new bottles to age) and I wanted to have something new around, so I decided to put some of the mottled apples in our fridge to good use (and bought a few new ones too).

Spiced Apple Liqueur
6 Apples, chopped
2 Cups 80 Proof Vodka
2 Cups 80 Proof Brandy
2 Cinnamon Sticks
10 Whole Cloves

I’ll be keeping it in a cool dark place for about a month (stirring occasionally), and then I’ll filter it and add some simple sugar syrup (2 cups I think?). I have no idea how I’ll drink this. On the rocks? Mixed with club soda? Most of the fun is really in the making of it, which is part of why half the time I just make them as gifts and keep a little for myself.

When I walked into the grocery store yesterday, the first thing my roommate noticed was that blackberries were on sale! I don’t really eat blackberries (I’m kind of picky about fruit; I like it candy sweet), but I wanted to make something else in addition to the spiced apple, so I decided to make some blackberry liquer too.

Blackberry Liqueur
18oz Blackberries (honestly,  I think 12oz would have been enough, but I had bought 18oz, so I decided to use 18oz).
1 cup sugar
1 cup vodka
1 cup brandy

First mixed the sugar with the blackberries, as seen in the picture, then added the alcohol. Again, I’ll let it sit for maybe up to a month (most recipes say 10 days) and then I’ll filter it, and then maybe add about 3/4 cup of water or so. I won’t get much out of this, sadly. Next time I’ll make it in a bigger jar/bottle. I will confess to eating one blackberry out of the mixture before sealing it and putting it away. It was delicious. Again, no idea how I’ll drink this. On the rocks might be too syrupy, but with club soda I’m fairly positive it’ll be delicious. Might also taste great with some vanilla ice cream.

I also made some almond liqueur today, which I cheat and make with extracts.  I spike a glass of diluted soymilk with it and it’s a really good drink to relax with. Sometimes I add a bit of instant coffee.

Almond Liqueur
2 tbsp Almond Extract (I poured in a little extra)
2 tbsp Vanilla Extract
1 cup Water
1 cup White Sugar
1/2 Cup Brown Sugar
2 Cups 80 Proof Vodka (may sub some brandy for vodka)

Boil the sugars with the water until the sugar is all dissolved, then immediately remove from heat and allow to cool completely. Add all the other ingredients. Enjoy!

I think my next alcohol project (aside from finally starting new batches of mead; I want to try a cyser/apple mead and either a pyment/grape mead, or a simple show mead. Probably a pyment. Extra flavor to cover up my inexperience) will be skittles/jolly rancher vodka. I’ve been seeing the recipes around for a while and just had them re-recommended to me on twitter. At the very least, the colors will be fun!

Written by Aba

May 16, 2010 at 7:04 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. do you know how to do mojitos..

    itsmyiphoneworld

    May 17, 2010 at 11:32 am

  2. Cramming for a test seems to be the way we graduate/professional school students like it. Lol! Nice post!

    • haha, so true. Admittedly, procrastinating in undergrad was studying the night before the test, but procrastinating in med school is (usually, I admit I’ve been bad a few times) more like starting studying a few days before the test at least.

      Thanks for reading! 😀

      Aba

      May 18, 2010 at 1:05 am

  3. i totally wanna do the skittles thing. it’s been on my list of things to do too!

    Shanchan

    May 20, 2010 at 1:58 am


Leave a Reply

