Thursday Born

The everyday life of a medical student (who was born on a Thursday).

Memories

with 5 comments

Many of my happiest memories are memories of quietly happy moments, of contentment. Some of them are more singular moments. I vividly recall sitting on my white, wicker armchair on the veranda of our house in Ghana, overlooking our front yard and the street as the sky pours heavy, rain forest storm rain, reading my big Famous Five (by Enid Blyton) hardcover book whose cover I eventually wore into tatters, a plate of peanut butter in my lap, which was draped with a crocheted blanket a co-worker of my mother’s had made for me when I was born. I was maybe eight or nine at the time, and I used to do this often, reading on the veranda, but that one specific time has stuck in my head.

And some of them are composites of so many other similar moments, like evenings spent with my mother. My father was often gone on business trips, and I used to move into my mother’s room when he was away. I have so many memories of making tea with her, or eating a light dinner with her, simple, one on one moments. I have very few distinct memories of what we talked about, though we did talk. I think there’s too many of these memories for the general collage to contain that kind of detail, but nothing is lost in the meaning, the core of mother-daughter bonding is still there. And this collage is a work in progress, with new memories added pretty much every time we see each other. We are both habitual tea drinkers, her more so than me (I get lazy about making tea), so it is almost a guarantee that at some point we will find ourselves together in the kitchen, sipping mugs of hot tea, no matter the weather.

Today was a good memory kind of day, curling up in the living room on a rainy afternoon with a mug of hot tea, one of my fresh baked sweet rolls that I made because I’ve been craving Ghanaian sugar bread for months now, reading a pretty good book (Water for Elephants). I’ve been working on prying myself away from my computer more often, reminding myself that I have a smart phone and I do not need to be near my laptop unless I am specifically doing something that I actually want to be doing instead of all the other wonderful things I could be doing. Today was also, as you might guess due to this post, a heavy reminiscing sort of day. Rainy days often remind me of that one afternoon on the veranda, and then my boyfriend called to let me know he’d found a new home for our armchair. A little more than two and a half years ago we bought an armchair for my dorm room, a nice big Ikea armchair big enough for the two of us to comfortably share (I’d been wanting one for a long time, due in no small part to fond memories of a green leather armchair I read in often as a child, head resting on one arm, legs dangling over the other). I had the chair for nearly two years, then he inherited it when I moved, and now it’s time for it to leave both of us. My favorite memory of it is probably this one I managed to fall asleep in his lap while he was reading. Though I wasn’t conscious for most of this memory, there was just something very pleasant and homey about it all.

I think the moral of this is that I need to make tea and read more often. I was a voracious reader as a child but I’ve tapered off significantly since then. I’m working on fixing that at the affordable price of generally pleasant walks to the library. Ah libraries. The school libraries were my favorite places in my schools in Ghana, and the librarians my favorite staff. I’ve also always loved American public libraries. Strangely, no fondness at all for my high school or college libraries.

And now I’m dragging myself back into bed, because it is past my bedtime.

Written by Aba

May 11, 2010 at 2:17 am

Posted in Uncategorized

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. did you not like the sci-fi room or the music room at college? the room i thought of as the sci-fi room was great: big leather chairs and what not. fell asleep there quite often. also, i LOVED the courtyard. and the music room was definitely magical for me.

    Shanchan

    May 11, 2010 at 2:49 am

    • Nope, not really. Went there once or twice but didn’t click with it and never went back. =/ Don’t remember if I ever went to the music room. I pretty much went into the library a very few times my freshman year, didn’t really like it, and never bothered to go back.

      Libraries were never really places I loved for the place itself. I don’t tend to spend much time in them that’s not browsing through the shelves time, so I guess if I don’t have a good experience doing that, I don’t like the library much.

      Aba

      May 11, 2010 at 10:45 am

  2. I love those moments when I will be engrossed in reading, then slip back into reality for a second, appreciate just how comfy I am, stretch physically, stretch mentally, and dive back in. I used read for hours, not as-i-collapse-to-sleep. I want to make more time for that.

    Ahmet

    May 11, 2010 at 11:14 am

    • I love doing that. 🙂 Best way to read.

      Aba

      May 11, 2010 at 11:54 am

  3. I miss my Famous Five book… I recently found my sister’s old copies though, of Secret Seven and The Secret Island… I haven’t sat and read a book in a while, except when I’m stuck on a plane or airport, which is sad. Internet usually wins over reading 😦
    I just started “Girl with the Dragon Tattoo” though, and it’s so good…it’s definitely making me want to curl up in a chair! 🙂

    Amrita

    May 12, 2010 at 3:32 pm


Leave a Reply

