Thursday Born

The everyday life of a medical student (who was born on a Thursday).

Reflecting on Abortion

with 2 comments

There is a group on campus called Medical Students for Choice, and I think so far I’ve attended all their talks. I would describe myself as reluctantly Pro-Choice, ultimately respectful of others’ autonomy but wishing that there would happily never be any abortions. Should I ever go into ob/gyn, I think I would want to know how to perform the procedure, but I don’t think I could ever actually do it. Med School has made me think about abortion a lot, and I still don’t feel that I’ve come to a place where I have a confident opinion on it. What I do have a confident opinion on is that Unwanted Pregnancy Prevention really should be talked about far more than Abortion. One of my extra-curriculars is one called SHARE, sexual health and reproduction education.We help teach sex ed class to middle school children (did I write about this here? I only got to go once this year but it was a lot of fun). I actually had really good sex-ed classes back in Ghana, and I find ignorance of these matters rather horrifying and deeply tragic. In my opinion, there is no reason not to know. Everyone should know these things, from the people who wait until marriage to the people who sleep around. Everyone.

Last night MSFC had a dinner talk (Ethiopian food! It was delicious) where two pro-choice religious leaders talked a bit about their views, and then answered some questions from the audience. I found it fascinating. First of all, I had no idea that there were religions, Christian religions no-less, that had official pro-choice stances. Second of all, it was interesting listening to my fellow students, because it was not only the pro-choice people who turned up. There were certainly quite a number of Pro-Life people, and while they generally tried to be civil and non-argumentative, you could really hear the deep-seated disagreement bubbling under the surface. It is such a hot issue and one that I think it’s rare that people change their minds on. People on both sides are very sensitive and defensive.

At some point MSFC is hoping to have a talk with both sides represented, the Pro-Life and the Pro-Choice. I’ll be sure to go to that one. It is sadly all too rare to see intelligent debate between two groups when it comes to issues like this.

Written by Aba

May 4, 2010 at 10:00 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I will be interested to hear about that debate. It’s been my experience that no pro-choice/pro-life debate remains civil and intelligent for very long, specifically because (like you said) the allegiances are so incredibly intense and seeded.

    dorianagraye

    May 5, 2010 at 5:37 pm

    • I will definitely post about it if it happens. Probably won’t be until the Fall though. School year’s too close to ending to organize it before summer.

      Aba

      May 5, 2010 at 8:44 pm


Leave a Reply

