Thursday Born

The everyday life of a medical student (who was born on a Thursday).

Far Reaching Networks

with 4 comments

I am not an adventurous person. I do adapt quickly to new situations, but I don’t crave them. Instead, I crave stability.

So it is interesting for me living in a day and age where it is so easy to live in one city for a few years, then another far, far away, and then yet another. Developing networks of friends only to have to create a new one in a few years. I know people who’ve had it worse growing up, moving year after year after year. My life’s only been broken up into 4+9+4+5+Now. After Residency it will have been 4+9+4+5+4+(4 to 7).

Technology makes it easier. I can keep an eye on people from my past, and on people who are still a big part of my life but no longer live near me. It’s easier to handle, with skype and gchat and email and everyone having cellphones, not having lived in the same city as my brothers since I was 11, or my parents since I was 13 going on 14. Even my best friend and my boyfriend no longer live nearby. People still tend to shy away from long distance relationships, but I think they’re becoming more commonplace and viable.

I dream of planting my roots somewhere, but at the same time I’ve wandered enough that I don’t know if I’ll ever be able to choose a location (ah, the paradox of choice). I wish sometimes I came from a small town in the US, that I schooled there from kindergarten to high school, then went to my state college and then state medical school. That my life long dream was to be a doctor back home, where all my friends and family have always been and still are. There is no such place for me, and maybe this idea is only alluring because it is so far from the reality of my life.

I’ve grown quite fond of my medical school class, and especially of my friends within it. It’s weird realizing that when we graduate, the match is probably going to split us up and it’s fairly unlikely we’ll ever end up in the same city again. But the solution is not to withdraw. It’s to make the most of what I’ve got and to try to enjoy the adventure of relocating and building new networks every few years, even if it’s not my nature.

Still, I’m really looking forward to staying in the same room for four years (at least, that was the plan; my friends are looking for a house we can rent together). I’ve had to pack up and move every year for the past nine years (dorms for 8 years, apartment for 1 year). Maybe it’ll get old, but I think no change could be a nice change.

Written by Aba

April 13, 2010 at 1:02 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. i don’t want to move either. i like the idea of having them nearby so we can have two kitchens. 🙂

    Shanchan

    April 13, 2010 at 2:16 pm

    • Yeah, and I think it’s really unlikely that he’ll find a house we’d all be happy with in the first place.

      Aba

      April 16, 2010 at 10:48 am

  2. Oh my gosh, I HATE moving. I’ve moved every year for the last 6 years (sometimes twice a year!) and I am so over it. I’m looking forward to staying where I am for a few years at least.

    Also? We have a bigger place so now we have more stuff, and I’m just not ready to purge yet. 😉

    dorianagraye

    April 14, 2010 at 1:03 am

    • haha, yeah, it’s funny how stuff expands to fill the space available (and then some!).

      Aba

      April 16, 2010 at 10:48 am


Leave a Reply

