Thursday Born

The everyday life of a medical student (who was born on a Thursday).

Gratuitous Picture Post!

with 2 comments

I’ve really slacked on my goal of posting at least once a week… But I’ve actually been making decent use of my spare time, so I’m still mostly satisfied with my progress with my new year goal of being more mindful of my time. Although I haven’t been posting, I’ve kept it in mind and I’ve been taking some food pictures. Once again, courtesy of my Motorola Droid (which I am still really fond of).

Bread!

This is the bread I baked. I’m not in love with the recipe, but it was really simple and now I’m no longer intimidated by the process of baking my own bread. It’s tasty enough, and when it comes to eating bread with soup, definitely better than the really cheap grocery store bread my roomate and I buy.

Due to my lack of a proper bread knife (buying one tomorrow), my slices are a bit thick. While this makes it essentially impossible to use for most sandwiches, it still works out well for grilled cheese, since I pull it apart and dip it into soup. I didn’t discover the combination of grilled cheese and tomato soup till late high school or early college, but I love it. Soup and bread in general is a pretty new idea for me, because I didn’t have much exposure to non-Ghanaian soups growing up.

And here you can see my general set up (note the grilled cheese + tomato soup!). This is where I study (and not study; those two books aren’t textbooks). The exercise ball is my chair, and is supposed to help with my posture but I cheat and often sit without either of my feet on the floor. I’m not sure why, but I really like pictures of desks. There are 13 stuffed animals in this picture… 9 were gifts! Of the four I bought, 3 are dragons and the other is the guinea pig (it was really cute! I couldn’t resist). I’ve been meaning to move about half of them to the top of my bookshelf.

Proof that medical students do have social lives. We even cook together! And sometimes we socialize outside of our class! Two of the four of us were grad students. This was dinner… Thursday? Very delicious, and aside from the rosemary potatoes, all variations of Chinese dishes. I played a sous chef role and did prep work like chopping vegetables.

And this is from yesterday. I set my laptop on the counter behind me and hooked it up to portable speakers so I could listen to lectures while cooking (why would I go to class when I could do this instead?). I got a kick out of being “professional” and prepping all my vegetables first and having them in bowls. I made black bean soup  (read 2 recipes and then ran with it, my general cooking style. I only have patience to follow measurements when it comes to baking) and I’ll be making lentil soup tomorrow. I was a little heavy handed with the seasoning, but that works since it’s really thick and would benefit from being watered down a tiny bit before eating.

That ends my gratuitous picture post! Not too bad for a camera phone, I think. Focus could be better, definitely, but I think the quality is sufficient for this kind of use. Okay, time to pay attention to the lecture I was “listening” to while writing this.

Written by Aba

February 28, 2010 at 11:56 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I haven’t read your blog in so long I didn’t realize you had updated… I used to check all the time but then you didn’t update so I stopped. I love black bean soup! And that baby is so adorable! (in reference to your future post)

    See you tomorrow! 🙂

    Amrita

    March 9, 2010 at 10:56 am

    • Yeah, I tend to be very inconsistent about posting on blogs and things like that. There’ll be up to a month of silence and then all of a sudden I’ll post regularly again for a bit, and then I’ll stop again. I was trying to get myself to write extra drafts so I have something to put up during the lulls but I haven’t been very good with that.

      You do get here tomorrow! See you then! 🙂

      Aba

      March 9, 2010 at 1:58 pm


Leave a Reply

