Thursday Born

The everyday life of a medical student (who was born on a Thursday).

New Year’s Resolution

with one comment

My New Year’s resolution this year is to be more mindful of my time.

I know that broad goals are usually bad, but I do have concrete mini-target goals embedded in this one. Overall, what I want to achieve is to have more fun, but also to do better in my classes (this year may be pass/fail but it’s a great chance to hone my barely existent studying skills before next year, which isn’t pass/fail).

Being a bit healthier would be good too. Not that I’m particularly unhealthy, and I’ve actually managed to gain back the bit of weight I wanted so now I need to adjust my diet back to maintaining my weight. Still, I know I could be healthier (namely, more moving around, but that ties back into having more fun because I want to focus more on my spinning arts).

All of this falls under being more mindful of how I spend my time. Let’s say I want to study, but I also want to play a video game. But I don’t want to study right now. But I shouldn’t play a game right now. So instead, I end up sitting in front of my computer doing nothing in particular.

I tried a mini-experiment this break. I was only allowed to use my laptop on its battery, which forced me to put it down more often than usual and seek something else out.  It also made me more aware of what I was doing on my computer. I only have an hour left, do I really want to waste it idly clicking between these tabs and not really processing anything?

Another way to put my goal would be that I want to be better at time management, but that feels a bit too strict for me than simply being more mindful. I’m hoping that mindfulness will lead me to have better time management skills, but I don’t think jumping right to the “Ok! Let’s schedule my day!” stage will work for me.

We’ll see how it goes. I’m hoping well. 🙂

Written by Aba

January 2, 2010 at 3:40 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. XD i read manga or SLEEP. I sleep a lot! hehe. and when i find myself idly clicking, i go poke at people or get hyper. it’s really useful, actually.

    Hao

    January 3, 2010 at 7:45 am


Leave a Reply

