Thursday Born

The everyday life of a medical student (who was born on a Thursday).

Funny thing about being a Medical Student

leave a comment »

My priorities are constantly in flux. Ugh, what’s with all this classroom learning? I want to be in the hospital already! Aw man, we’re practicing patient interviews in the hospital on real patients today? But I have to study!

Though I do have to say that in general, being done with a successful patient interview, Standardized or Real, is incredibly satisfying. Being done with a test? Relieving, but not really satisfying. It’s almost like giving to charity versus paying taxes.

I’ve really enjoyed interviewing patients so far. My two Standardized patient exams went very well (I confess though that I have not yet convinced myself to watch the videos, as valuable as I know it is to do so). I wasn’t surprised by the almost entirely positive feedback I received (my only negative feedback was for addressing my first SP by “her” first name; no idea why I did that. Not my usual style), but I was surprised to find that I didn’t come across as nervous and hesitant as I often felt. I’m an introvert by nature and I can be shy. I can also be awkward in that sometimes I neglect to step outside my mind and interact appropriately. But I’m good in formal settings. I like defined roles and I interact well within them.

Earlier in the month, I had a chance to interview a patient in the hospital completely on my own (with a fourth year present) and that was an amazing experience. Up until then I’d been underwhelmed by our hospital sessions. I had only been able to do a tiny part of the patient interview, or just the physical, or taking notes, or worse, just observing. But this time I got to do everything, the interview and the physical. Ah, HIPAA. I can’t really say much detailed about the case, but it was rather interesting and convoluted and she was quite the talker. It was good practice trying to keep the timeline straight.

Some people argue that there’s no point in learning clinical skills during your first two years, but I like the reminder of why I’m in Medical School at all. There are some (several) aspects of the curriculum that are attached to the clinical skill learning that I disagree with, but the concrete practical skills? Those are great. I gain confidence with practice, and also with the positive feedback. Makes me feel all warm and doctor-y.

Written by Aba

December 27, 2009 at 6:50 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

