Thursday Born

The everyday life of a medical student (who was born on a Thursday).

Need a new phone

with 5 comments

I need a new phone. I own two, but on one, the eight key doesn’t work, and the other likes to turn itself off every now and then.

I also really, really want something that does internet and email and all that good stuff. I had a blackberry for a few months, which converted me from a “I just need a phone to be a phone! Calls and text. Nothing else!” to  “I need to be connected 24/7. What if I get lost? What if I need to look up something? What if I get a new email and can’t check it for another half hour?!?!” My brothers offered to buy me an iPhone for my birthday when they first came out, and I actually refused! If only I knew what I was missing.

Anyway, there’s many options, and I’m a bit bewildered. I’m currently on AT&T but my last contract ran out nearly a year ago.  Do I want an iphone 3GS? A Palm Pre? An HTC Hero (Sprint), G1 or myTouch (both Tmobile)? Should I go for a blackberry again? What do I do?!

I really like google. I like Apple but am often put off by its cult of fans. I do actually like Palm too (used to have a PDA that I was quite fond of for reading ebooks). As for networks… AT&T is expensive, but two of my brothers are on it and I”m trying to see if we all get on a family plan, we can bring costs down significantly. I know barely anyone on Sprint, but my boyfriend’s on Tmobile and I could do a family plan with him and at least one of his friends.

As for the phones themselves… The iPhone 3GS is appealing. It’s an easy choice. I know a lot of people who own it (and the 3G) and they all love it. No complaints aside from the cost of the plan. I know one Palm Pre owner and she loves her phone but one person is not enough of a data point.

Android phones are the main contenders. I really like trying new things, especially gadgets. I could get a G1 for under $200 on craigslist, or I could get a myTouch for $200 new + contract, or about $350 to $450 without contract. There will also eventually be the HTC Hero for $180, and I’m sure more phones will be coming out soon-ish (but not soon enough!).

I feel like in a year or so, there will be great Android options, but I can’t wait a year. It also feels weird paying $200 or so now for one of the current options when I think it will be easier to be happy with a 3GS for about the same price.

I’m curious about Android. I think the things you already can do with it are nifty and cool. But will I really make true use of it? I’m not as much of a tinkerer as I want to be, and I feel like maybe I should just go with the easy choice here.

And yet every time I think I’m sold on getting a 3GS, I come across some article speaking well of an Android phone and I feel guilty for turning my back on it, if even only for this round.

Written by Aba

September 5, 2009 at 12:42 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hrm. Well, Adry and I (and my Jae) all have the Blackberry Curve 8300, and we all pretty much adore it. (I’m also pretty sure Adry has another one for work and one for her political party, and she’s never complained about any of the blackberries not working/being retarded/etc.) Although I also think mostly that’s the general ‘zomg, smartphones are the best thing ever, oh look I got a new email!’ thing. Another big thing that I looked for when phone shopping was the buttons. I personally didn’t like the buttons on the palms, because I felt they didn’t have enough distinction and that I would end up mashing six keys every type I tried to type a letter. So make sure you try out actual(/dummy) phones to see if you can manage the keyboard. Or you could bypass that entirely and get one of those newfangled touchscreen things all the young whippersnappers are yammering on about. >_> Mostly it’s a question of personal preference and pocketbook size, so I don’t feel like I can be much help. : \ But I wanted to say hello and that I am also stalking you here and that I love my effing blackberry. *hugs*

    evanelric (Beth!)

    September 5, 2009 at 11:53 pm

    • Hello!

      I had the Curve 8100 so I do know I like Blackberry Curves and that they’re great phones (I would in fact still have mine if I hadn’t dropped it and managed to irreparably break it). I think there’s a part of me that really wants to try something new. I’m a big sucker for new and shiny. =)

      thursdayborn

      September 6, 2009 at 2:00 am

      • Also, Sprint has apparently made some sort of something for everyone who has a smartphone level contract where you can call any mobile phone, on any network, for free. I, for one, am greatly excited by this. So much for free Sprint-to-Sprint, haha. XD

        evanelric (Beth!)

        September 11, 2009 at 1:09 am

  2. Hey you.

    I think the question boils down to this–what do you want to use your phone FOR? If you want it to be your texting, end-all typing kind of phone, I wouldn’t advise the 3Gs. The digitized keyboard can be difficult to use at times, and your typing speed is greatly decreased.

    Now, for me, I use my 3g for the apps, music, and overall chic-ness. It works with my MacBook seamlessly, and since both John and I have the 3G, we’re able to play games/communicate with each other much easier than if we had two different phones. I would never edit a Word document with it, though.

    Having said all of that, I want to be buried with my iPhone so I can try and take it to heaven with me.

    dorianagraye

    September 7, 2009 at 10:45 pm

    • Hey! Thanks for the input! =) I probably will not be editing documents on the go. I have a netbook that I take to school with me and I think that’s as portable as I need heavy typing to be. I do text a fair amount, but from what I’ve seen people seem to be fine with using it for texting. The only phone with a keyboard that I’m interested in at the moment is the Tmobile G1 and I don’t think I want to switch to Tmobile just yet (ok, so there’s the Palm Pre too but I irrationally just don’t want it). I’ve seen people type really fast on the iPhone though… I’ll just need to try it and see how I take to it. I think I get 30 days to try it and return it if I don’t like it.

      What will I be using it for? I know from my blackberry use that I will read email, read websites, and chat. And get directions. That was the main extent of my blackberry use, because figuring out how to do much else was enough of a hurdle that I didn’t. Really looking forward to trying out apps and such and seeing what other cool things these phones are capable of. Being able to read and watch stuff on my phone would be cool too (and listen to music). Cuts down on things I need to carry around to stay entertained.

      thursdayborn

      September 8, 2009 at 6:07 am


Leave a Reply

