Thursday Born

The everyday life of a medical student (who was born on a Thursday).

Finding my voice

with 5 comments

As much as I love the idea of keeping physical journals, I’m terrible at writing regularly enough. But typing? Typing I can handle. At about 14 (after many failed “Dear Diary” attempts at many younger ages), I discovered online journals, and I’ve kept a private one ever since.

This blog exists now because part of me has always wanted to write to a larger audience. It took me a while to decide whether I was going to blog publicly through medical school (and beyond?), and I took too long making this decision. It should have been obvious to me that I would, in the end. After years of writing sloppily for myself, the challenge of writing thoughtfully for others is a refreshing one.

That decision made, I struggled for a while over whether this blog would be anonymous or not. Anonymity is safe, or at least, it feels safe. Hidden, you can say the things you want to say that you don’t want associated with who you really are. It was tempting, but I realized that I’m not interested in being that kind of “blogger”. I’m interested in blogging to say, “This is me. These are my thoughts,” and I can’t do that well while hiding behind a false persona.

So welcome to my blog! My name is Aba, I’m 22 years old, and I just started medical school (second week of classes just ended). I graduated from Undergrad in 2008, and for the past year I worked in a Neuropathology research lab.

I have three older brothers, approximately eight, seven, and four years older than me. My parents are alive and well and still married to each other. I do not live in the same state as my boyfriend, and am not generally in the same country (or continent) as my best friend (or my parents, or the majority of my extended family, save for my brothers). My roommate is a graduate student I went to undergrad with, and I have a parrot, a Green Cheek Conure, named Chu, who does not particularly like my rooommate, or anyone but me.

The rest will come naturally.

Enjoy.  (:

Written by Aba

August 29, 2009 at 3:26 am

Posted in Medical School

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Welcome to WordPress, Silly Tim-Tim :-D.

    guillaumehj

    August 29, 2009 at 2:34 pm

  2. you are welcome to the world of great blogger.I loved it so very much,falling is not the problem,but how quickly you rise when you fall is the problem,(rise and catch-up with time)cause it’s the only thing that comprises on nothing,it doesn’t care about anything.be frequent on your updates,cause i’ll be watching you.

    Bernard Chaudre

    September 3, 2009 at 9:41 am

    • Thank you! I’m hoping I’ll be able to find the time to update frequently.

      thursdayborn

      September 3, 2009 at 9:20 pm

  3. (compromises)

    Bernard Chaudre

    September 3, 2009 at 9:44 am


Leave a Reply

